13 .9 .2016

Nicolás Filiberti, former Formula 3000 (today GP2) pilot - the opening category of Formula 1; Alejandro Chawan, member of the Argentina Mission to the 24 Hours Nürburgring; and Fabián Taraborelli, who dared to participate in Dakar Rally on a motorcycle, enrolled for the 2016 edition of the 1000 Millas Sport.

From the adrenaline of speed to the enjoyment of a ride on a classic sports car. This describes the participation of the three men who have gone through the experience of racing in prestigious international categories, and who today are enrolled in the 1000 Millas Sport, maintaining their passion for cars and competitive spirit unchanged. True, they have changed the adrenaline of driving more than 200 kilometers per hour to the easy ride offered by a regularity rally, but behind the wheel of precious mechanical jewels that year after year show off on the roads of Argentina's Patagonia.

Nicolás Filiberti (with a long history in motorsports both in the country and abroad - in 2001 he was a pilot of the Formula 3000 Prost Jr. Team); Fabián Taraborelli (in 2011 he challenged the Dakar with a KTM 690 Rally); and Alejandro Chawan (a participant since 2014 of the 24 Hours Nürburgring Nordschleife, the "Green Hell", an endurance race born in 1970) will be three of the the 150 crews qualified to take part in the prestigious classic sports race next November 9 - 13.

Like in his last participations on the tracks, Filiberti will drive a 1970 Porsche 911, while Taraborelli will be in charge of a 1966 Austin Healey MK II; and Chawan of a 1969 Jaguar E Type. All three of them will compete in the F2 Category: vehicles manufactured between 1 January, 1966 and 31 December, 1970.

The 1000 Millas will be the eighth and last date of the Argentine Historic Sport Regularity Championship supervised by Automóvil Club Argentino, led by Daniel Erejomovich. The four-times champion (2009, 2010, 2011, and 2015) has won four out of the five races that have taken place so far (the last one being the Mountain Rally) adding up 200 points, and a great difference with the runner-up.

In addition, among the crews that have already confirmed their participation are teams from Chile, Mexico, and Spain.